Leadership Award

Chairperson: Clio Chan



Professor William Stafford



Leadership AwardNomination Request




William Stafford Leadership Award

IAIE established the William Stafford Leadership Award in 2003 to recognize exceptional servant leadership within the Alliance. It is the highest award presented by the organization. The  Alliance bestows the Award every other year at the IAIE annual meeting. The next Stafford Awards will be at the 2016 IAIE World Conference.

The award is named to honor the late Dr. William Stafford, former Professor of Counselor Education at Lehigh University, a founding member of the Alliance. He directed the first Alliance Conference, which met on the Lehigh campus in 1982. Over the years, William Stafford provided exceptional leadership and contributed greatly to the development of the Alliance and equally important to invitational theory and practice. He was the second editor of the Journal of Invitational Theory and Practice.

Nominees for the William Stafford Leadership Award should have a minimum of three years of distinguished service and leadership to the International Alliance for Invitational Education. Distinguished service and leadership may be illustrated in one or more of the following ways:

  1. Outstanding performance over time in key Alliance leadership roles and responsibilities. These could include membership and leadership on committees, editorial boards, Board of Trustees, Advisory Council, IAIE Coordinators and other IAIE activities.
  2. Significant contributions to the development of invitational theory and practice in published works, conference presentations,and other forms.
  3. Authorship of articles, books, media, and other publications that enrich and extend understanding of invitational theory and practice.
  4. Other contributions to the Alliance not specifically mentioned above that clearly reflect the spirit and nature of Invitational Education®.




 Previous Winners

Charles English

Charles English

Ed Gwazdauskas

Ed Gwazdauskas

Allyson Schoenlein

Allyson Schoenlein


Recipients of the Stafford Leadership Award:

2016 Lexington, KY Kathy Fields Joan Fretz
2014 Nashville, TN. Charles English Ed Gwazdauskas Allyson Schoenlein
2012 Hong Kong, China Richard Benjamin Barbara Hansen Ken Smith
2010 Columbus, OH Stephen Chu  Eddie Collins Ken Wright
2008 Georgetown, KY Jim Mahoney John Piper Charlotte Reed
2006 Asheville, NC Dallas Blankenship Clio Chan Tommie Radd
2004 Atlanta, GA Kate Asbill Mable Morrison Jack Schmidt
2003 Cloudcroft, NM William Purkey
Sue Bowen
Dan Shaw
Paula Stanley
Dave Chapman
Phil Riner
Harvey Smith
Mary Lynn  Smith
Betty Siegel
John Novak
Peter Wong